The American Analog Set Announce First New Album in 18 Years

The American Analog Set have announced For Forever, their seventh album and first new music in 18 years, with two new songs: “Camp Don’t Count” and “Konika and Maliko.” It’s due out on October 27. Check out the new songs, album artwork, and full tracklist below.

The band shared the following statement on the new record: 

For Forever folds time and space. While the sounds and stories will be recognizable to fans, they arrive with considerable bruises incurred on the journey from Set Free until now. For those unfamiliar with the American Analog Set, this should be a simultaneously dark and vibrant introduction. Troubled lyrics permeate throughout, and the accompanying sounds are occasionally damaged and snarling. Not all things languid and dreamlike from past records have been abandoned or forgotten, but the dreams represented here are darker. While the previous eras of the band are referenced, they are carried forward and incorporated without a hint of patronizing nostalgia. For Forever is a document of a group that acknowledges their past while they advance into new territories and evolve.

In an interview with The Austin Chronicle in April, the band revealed that the lineup from 2003’s Promise of Love and 2001’s Know by Heart—frontman Andrew Kenny, drummer Mark Smith, bassist Lee Gillespie, keyboardist Craig McCaffrey, and percussionist Sean Ripple—had been playing and recording in Kenny’s garage on Monday nights for years. The group also shared that Numero Group is planning a box set around the band’s three albums from the late 1990s for Austin, Texas, label Emperor Jones: The Fun of Watching Fireworks (1996), From Our Living Room to Yours (1997), and The Golden Band (1999).